1/2cupalmond butterfull flavor, or if using no salt & no sugar added adjust maple syrup & soy sauce after tasting; add more to thicken sauce if desired
Add all ingredients to a food processor or blender and process or blend until smooth.
Notes
Nutrition Information is approximate.If you feel the sauce is too thick, add more water or broth; for thicker sauce, add more almond butter.For a sweeter sauce add more maple syrup or make the hoisin variation in the notes.To store: refrigerate in an air-tight container for 2 to 3 weeks.
Low Sodium Soy Sauce
This will likely turn out too salty if you use full sodium soy sauce. If you only have full sodium soy sauce, sub out a third or more with water.If you want to make this gluten-free use low sodium tamari.
Vegan no-chicken broth
You can skip the broth and use water if you want. This broth base is vegan and gluten-free certified. To mix a 1/4 cup of broth using Orrington Farms All Natural Vegan Chicken Broth Base & Seasoning, stir together 1/2 teaspoon base & 1/4 cup water. Please note that different brands of broth bases have different instructions.
How sweet?
This sauce is complex, full-flavored, and savory, if you like sweetness in your peanut-type sauces add extra maple syrup or make the hoisin variation.
Salt sensitive?
If you are salt sensitive, go light on the low sodium soy sauce and/or use water instead of broth. Taste after making and add more soy sauce to taste.
Optional Hoisin Variation for a sweeter sauce
To make the Hoisin Variation add 1 part hoisin to 2 parts Crazy Good No-Peanut Sauce and stir it together, i.e. 1 TBSP hoisin & 2 TBSPs Crazy Good No-Peanut Sauce. Add more hoisin if desired. Additionally, you may want to use water instead of broth and lower the amount of low sodium soy sauce by a little if you want to decrease the overall salty components. Lastly, you might want to halve the amount of Crazy Good No-Peanut Sauce (you can adjust the servings in the recipe card to 3 servings to make a half portion) because adding hoisin will yield you more sauce.
Vegetarian hoisin vs regular hoisin?
This falls into the trick question category. They are both vegan. Hoisin is vegetarian. Vegetarian hoisin is Buddhist vegetarian hoisin, meaning it does not contain onion & garlic. Yep, onion & garlic are vegetarian, but not Buddhist vegetarian. Hoisin means "seafood", but hoisin sauce does not contain seafood, it sometimes accompanies seafood items.www.planttestkitchen.com